Level 60 - how I keep myself motivated for almost 2 years

Hey guys!

Just as the title says, I’ve finally managed to reach level 60 after just under two years. I can rarely keep myself motivated for a long time and so reaching level 60 is nothing short of miracle for me. While I don’t visit the community very often, I still have you guys to thank for the tips and insights. With this post, I hope I can give something back.

So how did I do it? Let’s start from the very beginning - why I decided to start learning Japanese
It’s simple. I love the Japanese culture, as I’m sure most of you also do. Anime, manga, games, music, and anything in between. But I have been consuming those media for years before I started learning Japanese for real in late 2019. My turning point was when my friend invited me to go on vacation to Japan. Since we bought the airplane ticket months in advance, I thought I could use this as a motivation to start learning Japanese. And so I did.

Where did I start?
Google, of course. I didn’t remember what the keyword was, but long story short I found Tofugu’s guide on learning Japanese and of course, WaniKani. When I first started, I thought Japanese was easy. I’ve memorized katakana and hiragana in just about a month. Little did I know that there’s still this monster called Kanji. I was discouraged at first. I mean come on, over 2000 characters just to for me to be able to read? And that’s on top of the grammars that I still have to learn. It sounded absurd. It felt impossible. But since the Tofugu guide (obviously) recommended trying WaniKani and the time of vacation was drawing near, I decided to start WaniKani right away.