JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Book Cub (Now Reading)

Discussion of Volume 1, Part 1

Discussion of Volume 2, Part 1

Interested in participating in a JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure book club?

• Yes, yes yes!
  • No, no, no!

0 voters

EDIT: The people have chosen.

15 Likes

Yes, but not ready :sob:

8 Likes

Voted no cos I found the anime too violent for me. The first episode was enough for me to go NOPE. Is it as violent in the manga? Lol in case you can’t tell, i’m a total anime/manga noob.

1 Like

7 Likes

Hey, glad you’re interested Do you mean not ready because you feel you’re not skilled enough to read the manga or because you don’t own the books?

Yeah, the manga, much like its inspiration Fist of the North Star, is much much more violent compared to the anime. Whole lotta blood. I thought that might deter a lot of interest among WK users. But you say you were put off by the first episode, and something particularly atrocious happens in that one episode, so I don’t blame you. After that part, the story thankfully becomes more tame.

2 Likes

Oh really? Hmmm…maybe i’ll give episode 2 a try then. I think the premise is interesting and I can probably deal with 2D blood better than 3D.

1 Like

The show is still pretty violent, but the first episode is a bit of an outlier. Assuming you were referring to the Dio animal cruelty scenes? There are still occasions of such scenes, but it’s not like they are every episode.

1 Like

4 Likes

Yes, and thankfully we know the author isn’t some animal sadist, he said somewhere that he included animal cruelty to motivate the readers to absolutely hate some of the villains. It is damn effective.

So, reader discretion is advised. Some dogs die in the story, and the bad guys get what they deserve. I’ll prob. put some violence warning on the book club thread if I start it up, just to be safe.

1 Like