[Enticing Click Bait Level 60 Title]

ezgif.com-add-text

So I managed to squeeze into my golden level 60 badge the day before my four year Wanikaniversary. That’s like, so much cake. What am I supposed to do with all this cake?

boring personal story

I started studying WaniKani when I decided to visit Japan with my best friend. We had a little over a year to prepare for our small group tour guided adventure in 2017. Since I was embarrassed about my lack of knowledge the last time I traveled to a country with a non-English language, I decided to make lots of effort. I blew through about 37 levels of WaniKani while studying some elementary grammar and asking questions on HiNative. Somehow I managed to snag a Japanese pen pal from HiNative, and I really enjoyed the few months she was available to write to me. She taught Japanese to Japanese students in Japan, so she was a super reliable resource, but she got too busy to continue with all the cram school and finals coming up. Writing to her really forced me to learn (or at least look up) grammar points pretty often, so I was grateful for that experience.

Being in Japan was awesome! My studying barely helped at all! So I was happy to be guided by a very tall and knowledgeable ginger haired Australian who came to live with his Japanese wife there for ten years. I did have a very triumphant day once, though. Our group, made up of mostly retired English folk, split up to grab some lunch and a bunch of us ordered food from a convenience store. When we were waiting for our meals to be heated by the staff, we realized they were calling our order numbers out in Japanese! Luckily I had learned my numbers well enough. I let my group know how their numbers sounded so they could grab their meals when they were called out. I felt like… a hero!