Do you recommend Bunpro for grammar?

I just heard of Bunpro through browsing the community this morning and it looks good, do you recommend it?

I’ve been using Pimsleur for listening and speaking practice, wanikani is my obsession, I watch an episode of anime every day, and have started the Tadoku graded readers (still working through level 0 free content). I joined KaniWani too but haven’t gotten that off the ground yet. I’m just getting started on this and I realize there are gaps in my plan, the elephant in the room being grammar. I have both genki and minna no nihongo but something about using the books when not in a group/class situation just turns me off.

For context, I’m coming back to Japanese after about a 10 year hiatus. I got to N3 ish and lived in Japan for two years, so this is mostly brushing off the cobwebs and getting back what has been forgotten. I seem to do best when it’s the kind of studying that can be done in those interstitial moments throughout the day (like WaniKani), or while doing something else (like Pimsleur). I think that’s why the textbooks aren’t working; they require more of a formal plan and dedicated time that I don’t have right now.

As for my motivation - this is purely a hobby and maybe we’d like to move back to Japan one day, maybe not. I don’t have any specific requirements other than that I just love it!

(Also, sorry if this is in the wrong topic thread, it’s my first post and this seemed like the most appropriate place I could find.)

Thanks!

4 Likes

It’s worked well for me, with a caveat: its explanations are very minimal.