Difficulty using Anki?

This is my first time posting here so I hope this is in the right category, but does anyone else find Anki really difficult to grasp? I’ve just started my journey of learning Japanese using Genki and Wanikani, and have downloaded Anki along with a deck that divides into vocabulary words by chapter. Unfortunately I keep on getting the answers wrong either because I’m confused about what I’m actually supposed to be typing or because the deck is glitched? Here is an example:

The answer written below mine seems exactly the same as what I gave them. Does my answer turning red mean it’s wrong? Because sometimes it’s green too? Is it because there is some sort of discrepancy between when it asks for a kana reading Vs a vocabulary reading? Because so far I haven’t been able to figure that out either :confused: and does anyone know what the little numbers in the top left are? I am so confused tbh…

Any help on how to figure out Anki would be greatly appreciated!

I’ve never used that deck so I can’t answer your questions regarding that, but I can answer about the numbers! Blue is your number of new cards, red is the number in the learning stage, and green is the number that are up for review (finished with the learning stage). Also here is some unsolicited advice: I’d do a smaller number of cards in a day than that (you can set how many cards a day you get in the deck settings)

1 Like

All advice is welcome! I didn’t even know I could change cards per day so that’s a good start :slight_smile: How many would you recommend/day for a beginner?
And the learning stage thing makes total sense now, cheers!

It depends on how long you want to spend doing Anki cards in a day. I’ve used this in the past to find my sweet spot, but feel free to experiment!