Cure Dolly - Unlocking Japanese: Making Japanese as simple as it really is

I know many folks here are familiar with Cure Dolly already, but I wanted to share my recommendation for this book:

It is pretty short, but has a decent amount of depth - the premise is basically that textbooks try to teach Japanese grammar with a Westernised approach, and that if you view things slightly differently then sentence structure can make much more sense much faster. It’s almost philosophical.

I am still a rank beginner when it comes to grammar, but it helped make some things make much more sense to me, so I’d say it’s worth a look.

It’s available as part of Amazon Kindle Unlimited if you have that.

9 Likes

I really enjoy Cure Dolly’s videos, although I am only on video 20 of her main series. I don’t have Kindle Unlimited so I might buy a physical copy–I have wanted to help support Cure Dolly for a while but I don’t want to sign up for Patreon. How does the book compare to the videos?

1 Like

I just discovered Cure Dolly around a week ago and it’s been a really good review on various grammar aspects that I already knew or things I didn’t, but with a more “organic” approach and Japanese perspective which I really enjoy. I feel like it really helps to solidify Japanese as an unique language rather than a language to be translated to any Roman/Germanic languages (especially English) and to dismiss some confusion that is made with traditional textbooks or learning methods. Unfortunately, I find the synthetic voice tone sometimes hard to get used to, but the content is worth it. I may be buying this book too as a form of support and organizing my studies!

1 Like

The book is older than her youtube course, which goes more in-depth and cover a lot more. So I don’t really understand why people recommend the book instead. The only reason I can think of is if you are a fan, and want to support her, even by buying her older, outdated material.

2 Likes