Can you help a reader out?

Re: lifeline for one of the Absolute Beginner Book Clubs.
There seems to be more people reading along than posting which is fine, but… sometimes there are grammar points or expressions that none of us can figure out on our own.
Rather than repeatedly summoning the same people to help with this, let’s see if you fine folks can help a reader out by answering our questions in this dedicated thread.
Thanks in advance.:peace_symbol::vulcan_salute:

I’ll start with one from @anna_harumaki

1 Like

Perhaps some context is necessary, because this just seems to mean “how do you like (this) place?”

I’ll come read it as soon as I’ve managed to get caught up with everything…

(That said, I’m certain that a new thread for “help book club people with book club questions that other book club people can’t answer” is not the way to go. Either post in the existing grammar questions (or not grammar questions) thread, or tag someone you think might have an idea, like Leebo.)

2 Likes

This will probably just summon the same people to help. :stuck_out_tongue:

We’re all fine folks, after all.

I agree with Belthazar on the answer.

2 Likes

I agree that this needs context, because ところが can mean “speaking of which/by the way” as well.

4 Likes

Can’t it also mean “however”, or even something like “whereupon”?

I kind of see the objection to this thread, but I imagine that ‘enthusiastic book clubbers’ who might otherwise not be paying any attention to a particular club might check this out when they see posts, because they know it’s asking for particular help with otherwise unanswered questions.

That said, Belthazar’s point that you could ask in the questions threads is very valid, and will net you different answer-ers.

3 Likes