All my leeches are transitivity pairs and 人 (にん or じん)

I’ve been using Wanikani for four months now, no Burns yet and over 1000 Enlightened items. I keep Apprentice below 120, but early words like 下がる are starting to drop back down to this level. I don’t see myself remembering some of these pairs once they show up for Burns next year, and I think I might be heading for a reset sometime soon. Is this the reason most people have to reset? I feel like my pace has been comfortable so far, but these two issues keep me second guessing myself and making mistakes.

I can’t read much yet since my grammar is pretty weak, but I feel like most of these pairs would be more clear through context and I would learn them better that way. にん and じん seem minor too, so it’s kind of a bummer to see them drop down a few levels when they reappear. I don’t want to stop learning new kanji and vocab because of these two issues.

Has anyone else had this problem and figured out a solution? Am I going to be overwhelmed with reviews once I start Burning items? I’m averaging around 92% accuracy on kanji and vocab, but these pairs are probably closer to 50%.

6 Likes

I can tell you this 100% works. I used to have a hard time distinguishing transitivity and intransitivity, but after started reading a lot of native material, now I have a better grasp about this topic. My advice is to start learning all basic grammar and then after that start reading A LOT of native content. Also, there is a pattern to it (though it does not always follow this pattern 100%), you can watch this video for more in-depth explanation.

As for にん and じん, I always associate にん with Nintendo, and try to cram it into mnemonic, no matter how absurd it is, and it works for me so far. For example 商人 (しょうにん) means trader, and I create mnemonic “trader that sells Nintendo stuff”. I think this also has a pattern to it but I can’t remember how it works.

19 Likes