レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 6 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Six: Pages 59-72

Start Date: 12th September

Last Week: Week 5
Next Week: Week 7
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

10 Likes

This week we finish chapter 2! Hope everyone is still enjoying reading.

The home thread is up for the next Absolute Beginner Book Club Book 10分で読める伝記(2年生) - which starts on 7th November 2020. This is a book rather than a manga and contains 12 short stories of famous people from around the world, aimed at grade 2 Japanese students.

2 Likes

Page 59

-とろうとしてきました Could someone please help me break this down? With these long strings of hiragana, it’s hard to look up words individually…

3 Likes

A good resource for this kind of breakdown (although it’s not always perfect) is ichi.moe.

とろう+と+して+きました

(The combination of と+する has a meaning of its own that’s good to learn.)

6 Likes

Really not a fan of this Sae kid. :triumph:

Does anyone know what these dots next to kana and kanji mean? I’ve seen this in a few manga now, but I’ve no idea what it’s supposed to do.

5 Likes