レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 5 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Five: Pages 47-58

Start Date: 5th September

Last Week: Week 4
Next Week: Week 6
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

8 Likes

Page 47

ぜひしっかりとその姿を見てあげて下さい

Having trouble understanding what this is literally saying. The dictionary definitions of しっかり and 姿 don’t make much sense to me. Is there a fixed expressions or common phrase at work here?

Page 56

兄のことを書きたくても楽しい想像すらできず捻り出した嘘が俺との一日をイメージした仮想の話

Wow that’s a mouthful.

Here’s my breakdown:

兄のことを書きたくても - Even if she wanted to write about her brother

楽しい想像 - fun imagination (fantasy?)
すら - even (the only thing needed?)
できず - Without being able to do
捻り出した嘘 - Thought up lie
が particle so that entire block was a single noun phrase: Something like “a thought up lie without even being able to imagine even [something/anything] fun [with her brother]”

俺との一日 - a day with me
イメージした - imagined?
仮想の話 - imagined story

That’s a lot of imagination and making stuff up. All together we have something like: