レンタルおにいちゃん Volume 1 (Absolute Beginner Book Club) - Finished!

Welcome to レンタルおにいちゃん - Big Brother Rental - Volume 1!

We read volume 1 of this manga in the Absolute Beginner Book Club between August and November 2020.

To see what the club is reading next visit the Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread.

To get involved with reading more volumes of this manga, visit the レンタルおにいちゃん Reading Club Home Thread.

The next Absolute Beginner book is 10分で読める伝記 (2年生), starting November 7th 2020.

For an idea of the difficulty, click on this link to view the first chapter free on Pixiv. As a club we’ll be putting together a vocabulary list as we go and answering each other’s questions. We’ll plan to read this at a relatively slow pace so that those who are new to reading native Japanese books can keep up.

If you want to take part… just buy the book and join in the discussion! There’s a membership poll further down.

Book Summary

Little Kanami has lost the warmth of family at home, following first the death of her parents, and second her once-kind big brother becoming distant and abusive. She lacks the warmth of friendship at school, where classmates either bully or ignore her. When things seem to be at their worst, Kanami meets Makoto, a young man whose kindness is exactly what’s missing from her life. Makoto, seeing a reflection of his own childhood in Kanami, offers a proposition: any time she’s feeling down, she can rent time with him as a big brother.

You can read the original nomination post for this book here.

Please be aware the story involves some moments of verbal, psychological, and slight physical abuse which might make some readers uneasy.

Schedule & Discussion Thread Links

Week Start Date Pages No. of pages Chapter
Wk 1 Aug 8th 3-12 10 pages Chapter 1 part 1
Wk 2 Aug 15th 13-22 10 pages Chapter 1 part 2
Wk 3 Aug 22th 23-32 10 pages Chapter 1 part 3
Wk 4 Aug 29th 35-46 12 pages Chapter 2 part 1
Wk 5 Sep 5th 47-58 12 pages Chapter 2 part 2