レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 12 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Twelve Pages 148-160

Start Date: 24th October

Last Week: Week 11
Next Week: Week 13
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

8 Likes

Page 156
妹さんを 脅したり責めるのはやめてあげてください

After a lot of googling, my best guess is that this uses the “non-exhaustive list” ~たり~たりする as described in Tae Kim and bunpro. But both of those sources state that ending in ~する is part of the structure, and this second verb doesn’t. Of course it’s not a する verb, but then neither are some of the examples in the sources, and they still add する. Am I completely confused and this is just something else entirely?

3 Likes

Page 151
It’s interesting how it changes from ください to 下さい between the first and second panels on the page. I think it’s just for emphasis(?). Has anyone seen this done in other writing?

3 Likes

Yes, I also read this as a non-exhaustive list. I’m not sure why it’s not 妹さんを脅したり責めたりするのはやめてあげてください but I assumed this was an alternative way that was grammatically correct but less of a mouthful.