レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 11 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Eleven: Pages 133-147

Start Date: 17th October

Last Week: Week 10
Next Week: Week 12
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

9 Likes

Before this book club began, I had recommended some minor changes to the pages per week (which were implemented). My main concern was to ensure there were no cases where one week was extra light and another week extra heavy on reading. In some case, where a page could go just as easily at the end of one week or the start of another, I leaned toward which made for a better cliffhanger between weeks.

This final chapter was difficult to separate! I really wanted us to end this first week on page 145 (two pages earlier), but then next week would just have too many pages heavy with dialogue. I’d also considered instead adding more one page to this week, but that would have made this week a bit too dialogue heavy.

Both weeks are still a wee bit heavy on dialogue, so hopefully everyone’s able to push through it. As always, ask any questions you have. I really enjoy this chapter, and I hope everyone else will too.

10 Likes