ず form without に particle?

Reading links regarding the ず form (without doing the verb), sometimes, it is stated that the use of the に particle after ず is required. But in the paragraph below かまわず seems to be the ず form of かまう and it is not been followed by the に particle. So, what is going on here?

1 Like

I’m pretty sure the grammar dictionary says it’s not required, but my copy is currently packed in a box, so I couldn’t tell you the specifics of the usage.

I see it without に often, and my understanding (anyone please correct me if I’m wrong) is that ず alone is essentially the same as ない.

3 Likes

(Blanket warning that I’m not an expert by any means but here goes :joy:)

My understanding with ず has been that it basically makes the verb into an adverb (a la 相変(あいか)わらず and the like), and like other dedicated adverbs it can and often does use に, but it doesn’t have to. I’m sure there’s more to it than that, but that’s how I’ve understood it anyway :laughing:

3 Likes

Thanks: This was useful since I didn’t realized Grammar Dictionaries would have entries for the ず form since the one I use has a table for verb conjugations but it does not explain the conjugations. Anyway, I checked 日本語文型辞典 and says it expresses negation but can only be used in written language. In spoken language, なくて and ないで are used.

2 Likes

For those who can work their way through it, this grammar site (Japanese) mentions ず. I think it’s saying that ず is a form of ぬ, and that ぬ is for cancellation same as ない.

2 Likes

With this discussion only know I realized that the adverb 思わず that was one of my leeches back in level 10 is just using the ず form!

4 Likes

My understanding was that ず = なくて and that ずに = ないで.

At least I’ve heard people say that.

5 Likes

I had the same realization on 思わず after learning about ず. Suddenly it made sense why 思わず seemed to mean the opposite of 思う, and I didn’t get it wrong again since.

2 Likes