「なんの理由あってか分からん」

If this sentence was instead「なんの理由あるか分からん」I would understand, but I don’t get why あって is used here instead.

2 Likes

I’m by no means an expert, but some times characters use って as a speaking style. I know in Doctor Stone, Senku uses it a lot. So it might just be something like that.

1 Like

It could just be a quirk, Araki is known for playing with the Japanese language a lot. You would probably have a better chance at seeing if Jonathan’s dad has spoken like that before, but either way, I think it’s just emphasis on the connection between how much he does not understand the reason why Jonathan would be doing what he’s doing. It reminds me of the だって or って type of speak that would replace the は in a casual sentence, like, “as for what reason you have, I have no idea but…” (but is added since the original text has a が)

I do not personally believe it changes the translation in a drastic way, and it would still be the same overall meaning if it had used あるか instead of あってか. Of course I could be wrong, but when it comes to Araki Japanese, he’s famous for his voice in his Japanese works for being a little off the regular path so :person_shrugging:

Your question gave me a kind of existential crisis trying to figure out what the purpose of ~て+助詞 is, so my answer is going to be kind of disorganized due to it being in the order of research I did (I searched Google for grammar help in both English and Japanese). Here’s what I found out and keep in mind I’m not 100% sure in my conclusion though it seems logical:

あって+か is a grammar pattern used in plain/casual speech (the sentence will end in a plain verb).
It can be used in sentences like:
そんなわけあってか → Meaning = そんなわけ(が)あってか(どうか分からないが) → Translation = “Probably because of that”
そのせいもあってか → Translation = “Probably/maybe because of that”