Why doesn't WK have a progress bar for vocabulary?

When I’m studying my radicals and kanji it’s fun to see my progression on the dashboard. But there is nothing like that for vocabulary and I cannot understand why. As I wrote this I see “Your topic is similar to…” and someone brought this up over five years ago! The absence of this relatively simple to implement feature is … disappointing.

4 Likes

It’s probably that they envisioned the bars as being for the practical purpose of tracking unlocking things, and vocab items don’t unlock things.

The progress bar for kanji displays how far you are from advancing to the next level. They don’t track all the kanji in a level, just the number needed to level up.

In that sense, the reason for not having a vocab progress bar is simply that vocabulary is not related to leveling up. You don’t need to hit any particular vocabulary threshold to move to another stage of WaniKani.

Similarly, getting a vocab item to guru status doesn’t unlock anything. So that’s probably the reason for not having individual item bars.

I’m sure someone has made a script for this kind of thing though, so maybe someone who knows can help you find a way to alter the dashboard to suit your preferences.

9 Likes

has separate progress bars for all categories that aren’t completed, that includes multi-level

10 Likes

“In that sense, the reason for not having a vocab progress bar is simply that vocabulary is not related to leveling up. You don’t need to hit any particular vocabulary threshold to move to another stage of WaniKani.”

Actually, one does need to progress through the vocabulary to then have lessons begin on the radicals and kanji of the following level. Maybe there’s a way to start the radicals/kanji before the previous level’s vocabulary reaches guru but I’m not aware of it and even if I were I wouldn’t employ it.