Why do the EXAMPLES show different readings to the READINGS?

As you can see I am new to wanikani, and was just wondering about, for example:

I am looking at the lesson for this kanji, and the only readings given are

じん and にん

However, when moving over to the ‘examples’ tab, it has:

• ひと(which is the one that I am already familiar with)
  • ふたり(二人)
  • ひとり(一人).

Now I understand that these are the different readings, but it seems as if this is just confusing for someone new to kanji, as it doesn’t try to explain a link between the readings and the examples in any way. In fact the given examples don’t seem to contribute anything to the rest of that lesson.

Maybe a better way to word it is to say that it seems strange to say to someone:

“You can say this word like A or B. For example: C, D, E.” (where C, D, E do not contain A or B, so I fail to see how that is an example of A and B in use).

I guess my question is, does this get cleared up later in the course, e.g. in the vocabulary stage, or am I expected to research these kind of differences myself?

Thanks

Examples are for the general usage of kanji in different words, not usage of a single kanji reading.
You will get other readings when you unlock related vocab.
Your learning of readings is not over once you’ve learned the 1 on’yomi on the lesson page, that is just the basis.

4 Likes

Ok thanks for clearing it up gzovak, I feel like that could really confuse someone if they weren’t aware of the different readings

Once you have learned all radicals and kanji of the first level you will unlock the level 1 vocabulary, where you will encounter either kun’yomi or on’yomi readings.
Here is a snapshot of two examples how the word 人 is used with different readings.
人= person

人口= population
As you can see Wanikani explains why kun’yomi or on’yomi reading is used, which of the two you have learned previously and introduces you to the new reading that you haven’t learned until then.