Please help me understand the point of learning some of those readings

Okay so I’m brand new to this. Couple weeks in, I’m on LvL3, doing the reviews and new lessons is becoming a habit cause honestly it’s kinda fun. But this one thing keeps making me wonder.

Right so after diligently doing the radicals it gives me the lesson for the kanji 方 right. And I’m like ah yea that means “way” or “method” as did the radical, and I was thinking you read that “かた” right, I remember doing my “katas” when I did Karate at age 10 or whatever. But no, the reading it wants me to remember is “ほう”. So alright sure I get there’s multiple readings and then I guess that’s probably the most important one, because that’s how it’s supposed to work right, WaniKani teaches me the most important one as “the reading” (and outliers as they come up in extra vocabulary).

But then you look at the vocabulary examples and literally all of use the かた reading. Whether it’s the kanji on it’s own or in compound with others, all of them it’s always かた.

Right and this is just one example. I’ve had this a couple of times now where it’s like, why does it make me learn the reading that’s explicitly not the one that any of the example vocabulary uses? Can anyone help me wrap my head around this? Cause like when there’s only one reading that you ever actually use, just give me that one from the get go? Or is it like, you just need both but one’s way more rare so they give you the hardly used one from the start just so that you’ve at least heard it in passing? Or is it like, they just choose the example vocabulary poorly and there’s just way more using the other reading but it just so happens they don’t show you those? It just kind of confuses me.

Aye thanks

3 Likes