I chose a few textbooks. Which textbooks do you recommend?

I studied Genki 1 and 2. I memorized 2,200 常用 kanji characters and hundreds of japanese words in Anki. After learning Genki, I wasn’t able to consume native materials. I had been studying Tobira for a while. Tobira was doable because I already had some vocabulary.

I didn’t know what to learn next after Tobira. Thus, I started searching for a comprehensive learning plan.

Genki 1 and 2 cover JLPT N5 and N4.
Tobira seems to cover N4 and N3.
Nihongo So-Matome seems to be good for reviews
New Kanzen Master looks good for learning advanced japanese

I constructed a few learning paths.

1. Genki 1 & 2 -> Tobira -> New Kanzen Master N2 and N1
  2. Genki 1 & 2 -> Tobira -> Nihongo So-matome N3, N2, and N1
  3. Genki 1 & 2 -> Nihongo So-matome N3, N2, and N1
  4. Genki 1 & 2 -> Tobira -> Nihongo So-Matome N3 -> New Kanzen Master N2 and N1
  5. Genki 1 & 2 -> Nihongo So-Matome N3 -> New Kanzen Master N2 and N1

Which one do you recommend?

3 Likes

I’d be curious to hear what people have to say about your path #3 (Genki -> So-matome) - at least as far as through N3. I was just reading a review of So-matome on a different site where the blogger said they thought it was a bit weak.

After spending a long time reviewing and focusing on kanji (via WK), I’m looking to dive into N3 prep, so I don’t have much to recommend myself.

1 Like

I’ve been following the Genki 1 & 2 -> Tobira path, though I don’t know where to go after Tobira, or even if I’m going to keep at textbooks. I’ve been thinking about following your learning path #1, though. I’ve heard New Kanzen Master is a good choice after Tobira.