What was your process for improving passive listening?

Hello all, I’m new! Just made it to level 4 and I think I’ve started to form a habit, so I’m likely here for the long haul. I had the opportunity to work in Tokyo for a month in January (fortunately, everyone in that office spoke English quite well), and while I was prepped to read kana and navigate basic questions while I was in Japan, I found myself wanting to be more prepared when I went back.

After five weeks there, I found that my passive listening of Japanese had modestly improved, but now that I’m home, I’m having a difficult time finding listening resources that aren’t, well, really advanced. Do I just keep watching shows or listening to podcasts while studying until it just starts to click? What worked best for you to get better at just automatically hearing and processing Japanese?

14 Likes

As soon as I started learning Japanese I started listening to native podcasts (i.e. not something like JapanesePod101) regularly, and this has worked very well for me. I passed N3 and N2 with the highest score in listening comprehension without ever studying listening. I usually advocate listening to podcasts even if you don’t understand what they are saying for this reason. I’ll put on a Japanese pod while doing the dishes, or taking a walk, or for my commute, or showering, and so on. I do listen, but I don’t really focus on it, if that makes sense.

31 Likes

If you’re into games, I find that Japanese Let’s Plays (実況プレイ) are a nice and relaxing way to listen without actively studying. Doesn’t matter how much you understand either, as long as the game’s entertaining.

17 Likes