How Do I Practice Listening To Japanese?

Hello! :smile:
I’ve been learning Japanese for about a year now, and I am completely self taught (Or at least I’ve never taken classes for it)
However, one thing I’ve never been any good at is listening. Since I’ve never taken classes, I didn’t hear Japanese much when I first started learning. I try to listen to it as much as possible now.
That being said, I suck at listening. I can read a lot in Japanese and understand it, yet I can barely understand basic phrases when spoken. Mainly because it’s too fast. At this point, I have trouble understanding JLPT 5 listening practice unless I have the transcript right next to me.
So for those of you who are experienced, what is the best way to practice?
One thing I’ve always been wondered is if it’s good to follow a transcript. At this point I am still reliant on the transcript to understand what they are saying, so I wonder if it’s inhibiting me. Should I be trying to listen without any transcript?
Also: Should I be listening to full speed native material for practice? I was thinking about buying these JLPT 4 and 3 Listening practices I found, so I’m wondering if that’s the best way, and if so, when should I start listening to native material?
I would also appreciate it if you could give me sources for listening practice Free or otherwise, as long as it’s not too expensive because I’m broke :upside_down_face:

17 Likes

I currently live in Japan, so naturally I am more exposed to it on a daily basis. I know a lot of people shit on JapanesePod101 but I noticed my listening comprehension sky rocket when I signed up for that. They act out stories at native speed and give you a line by line audio dialogue where you can click a particular sentence over and over to hear it while reading at the same time.