Tips for studying Japanese through listening

Hey guys,
I understand there was a previous thread about this, called “Tips and tricks to practice listening skills”, but it was locked, so I thought I’d start another one.

I am currently studying as much Japanese as I can for the JLPT 2 in December. I am currently focusing more on listening now, as my reading is already on par (in my opinion). My current method is watching the video without subtitles, try to grasp what is happening, and quickly look up the occasional word I don’t understand. I don’t stress too much about not understanding everything, just grasping what is happening. If there is a scene where I don’t understand what is happening, I replay it with English subtitles (I generally do this when a character speaks really fast, or has an odd way of speaking).

Also, in the previous thread, it was mentioned by Syphus that having conversation in Japanese with another person helps too. I am already currently doing this once a week with my tutor. (I probably could be doing it more often, tbh).

Anyway, I was wondering what tips you guys might have for studying Japanese through listening?

@Syphus , in the locked thread, you mentioned that you wanted to write a thread on this. I tried searching for it, in case you made it, but couldn’t find it. Sorry if I missed it.

4 Likes

Radio is really good. Exposes you to a wide variety of useful language.

If you’re in Japan you can find a little radio for pretty cheap. If not, you can still listen to podcasts online or through an app. It’s great because you can just turn it on when you’re doing chores like laundry or dishes, or when you get up in the morning and listen as you start your day.

3 Likes