What are user scripts?

I see people talking about it in the community but I have no idea what it is.

1 Like

I had never heard of them before I started using WaniKani either. ^^ These are programs (? not sure if that’s technically the correct term - not a programmer over here) coded/designed by members of the community. Basically, they are things you can install in your browser to customize your WaniKani experience. These customizations can be purely cosmetic (i.e. changing the fonts/screen color), or they can change some of the functionalities of WaniKani. For example, a lot of people use the override script so that they have the ability to mark answers correct even when WaniKani marks them wrong.

There’s a lot more information in the post linked below, including a guide on how to install them and a list of the different scripts available/what they can do:

I hope this is kind of helpful at least. :sweat_smile: I’m by no means an expert, and I’m sure there are a lot of people on here who would be able to give you a more technical explanation of what they are/how they work.

3 Likes

On any web site, there three major components:

• HTML: The actual content of the web page
  • Style Sheets (CSS): Describes how to make the HTML look (colour, borders, what gets drawn where)
  • JavaScript: Lets a web page do interesting and interactive things (the fiddly bits).

Userscripts are nothing more than JavaScript that is added onto the web page to change existing functions, or to add new ones. If you aren’t technically inclined, think of userscripts as extra fiddly bits to expand what a web site can do. Just be careful that the scripts you use are either trusted by the community, or you are absolutely sure that you know what they do by reading and understanding the code.

1 Like