We are starting to retire Script Compatibility Mode

Hi everyone,

I am Scott a new developer working in the engineering team here at Tofugu. I have been working quietly behind the scenes for the last six months, but today I have something to share with you all.

Starting next Monday (21 November 2022) we will begin retiring Script Compatibility Mode from WaniKani. The burden of maintaining multiple code branches has become too great and prevents us from delivering awesome new features to our community of learners in a fast and reliable way. New features are on the way, but first we must address our legacy code that is active when Script Compatibility Mode is turned on. So next Monday we will begin by removing legacy lessons and soon after we will be removing legacy reviews. If you would like to check whether your scripts will be impacted by this change, please ensure that you have Script Compatibility Mode turned off in the app settings.

Iā€™m sorry if youā€™re using any scripts that end up being affected by this. Please know that weā€™re not doing it to make your life harder ā€” in the long run this will be beneficial for everyone.

If you have any questions I will be happy to answer them.

40 Likes

Thanks Jenny & Kumirei Scott.

I assume the process of determining if scripts are broken by this will mean disabling them all and going through them one by one or something like that?

Are there any scripts that you guys know for sure will be broken? would be useful even if itā€™s just a few so that we can more easily just remove them.

4 Likes

Unfortunately this is one of the great challenges with user-scripts. We have no way of knowing which scripts are in use on a given page, how many people are using the scripts, and whether the script is actively maintained.