Sharing my JLPT-5 reading material (EDIT)

I was not happy with the amount of (level appropriate) reading material I found on the internet. I decided to write my own book using only the words from the JLPT-5 vocabulary list. It is a collection of short stories and random phone conversations. It helps me to remember the N5 words, as I start to move on to the N4 list. For anyone at the N5 level I think this will help.

EDIT* Sorry guys the share link I posted before was not public. I am posting this new link so everyone can view or download without any permissions.

JLPT-5 Reading (public link)

9 Likes

You’ve put an impressive amount of work into this.

But…

It’s, uh…

I’m really not sure how to put this nicely.

It’s… not really Japanese. It kinda feels like English sentences have been run through a Japanese dictionary with no real understanding.

6 Likes

Thanks for the honest feedback. My understanding of Japanese is from a self taught standpoint, so what you are saying is probably true. Can you show me an example of what you are talking about to further elaborate? Like, maybe post a sentence from the book and put it next to a reworked sentence to show me the difference?

1 Like

Well, from the top:

手紙達と話達

達 is a pluralising suffix used only with people. Otherwise, Japanese doesn’t differentiate between singular and plural - “letters and stories” would just be 手紙と話

毎週私は貴方合うため電車で町に旅行つもり。

If I’m reading this correctly, this is meant to say “Every week, I plan to travel to the town by train to meet you”, yes?

• Japanese almost never uses second person pronouns, though I guess you can relax that restriction if you’re writing a love letter to someone, or somesuch.
  • You need a particle after 貴方 either way - either に or と
  • That should be 会う rather than 合う
  • 旅行 is more of a long-distance journey, like a vacation or similar. 行く is all you need, here.
  • You need a する after the 旅行, in any case.