What's the best textbook for self-study?

Hello!

Pretty much what the title is - what’s the best textbook for self-study?

I’ve heard a lot about Genki but also that’s only really effective in classroom setting. I work Monday-Friday 9-5 so I’m studying on commutes and in the evenings. I’m also a big fan of physical textbooks but I don’t come across many recommendations of them apart from Genki which is pretty pricey to me!

I’d be grateful for any suggestions! I’ve started going through TextFugu but find it weirdly difficult to read lots of text online when I’m studying and just prefer having a book in my hand (but I will totally suck it up and study online if that’s best).

ありがとう!

3 Likes

Depends on what exactly you’re studying. Since you mentioned Genki, I’ll assume grammar. In which case, I recommend “Japanese the Manga Way”.

4 Likes

I agree that it depends on what you are trying to study.

For grammar I use ‘Genki’ together with ‘A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar’.
For vocabulary I use ‘Quick Master of Basic Vocabulary’ (because although Wanikani provides vocabulary to help reinforce your kanji the pace for commonly used words isn’t fast enough to match words that come up in my readings outside of wanikani).

I did try (and do own) Japanese for Busy People but it didn’t really work for me when I first started wanikani. From level 10 onwards I felt that I could read through examples in genki much easier as I knew the vocabulary well enough to focus on the grammar points being taught. I will probably go back to JFBP after I finish Genki 1 and 2 as a top up to my learning.

5 Likes

Oops, totally forgot people over the internet couldn’t read my mind!