Scaling the review mountain part 6 - the race to zero

Sun Apr 02 2023:
Time spent: 20m L1
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 370
Reviews in next week: 704 (+334)
Reviews in next month: 1153 (+449)
Accuracy: 79.00% (79/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 223
Guru: 393
Master: 336
Enlightened: 863
Burned: 5811

7 Likes

Mon Apr 03 2023:
Time spent: 19m L1
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 356
Reviews in next week: 674 (+318)
Reviews in next month: 1159 (+485)
Accuracy: 79.00% (79/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 215
Guru: 385
Master: 349
Enlightened: 868
Burned: 5811

6 Likes

Tue Apr 04 2023:
Time spent: 18m L1
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 333
Reviews in next week: 664 (+331)
Reviews in next month: 1167 (+503)
Accuracy: 78.00% (78/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 215
Guru: 387
Master: 345
Enlightened: 869
Burned: 5816

5 Likes

Today was the fifth consecutive day when I had lessons, and the seventh out of the last eight. I guess it makes sense that I’d be guru’ing new kanji and unlocking new lessons more often now that my review pile is much smaller, but it still surprised me.

Also, one of the lessons I did this morning was 無謀 (mubou - reckless) and I noticed it in the wild while watching Hi Score Girl episode 9 tonight, so that was a cool coincidence.

Wed Apr 05 2023:
Time spent: 18m L2
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 323
Reviews in next week: 646 (+323)
Reviews in next month: 1165 (+519)
Accuracy: 82.00% (82/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 211
Guru: 387
Master: 345
Enlightened: 870
Burned: 5824

8 Likes

Guess I jinxed it

Thu Apr 06 2023:
Time spent: 17m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 309
Reviews in next week: 648 (+339)
Reviews in next month: 1160 (+512)
Accuracy: 79.00% (79/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 203
Guru: 389
Master: 343
Enlightened: 868
Burned: 5834

6 Likes

301! I think this means I’ll probably be under 300 tomorrow.

Fri Apr 07 2023:
Time spent: 16m L1
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 301
Reviews in next week: 649 (+348)
Reviews in next month: 1163 (+514)
Accuracy: 82.00% (82/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 196
Guru: 393
Master: 341
Enlightened: 871
Burned: 5840

7 Likes

And your apprentice is under 200!

4 Likes

Funny how I was just over 300 yesterday and just under it today.

Sat Apr 08 2023:
Time spent: 17m L2
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 298
Reviews in next week: 657 (+359)
Reviews in next month: 1176 (+519)
Accuracy: 76.00% (76/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 198
Guru: 396
Master: 338
Enlightened: 878
Burned: 5842

8 Likes

I couldn’t focus this morning and was missing tons of questions, so I quit early.

Despite only doing 28 reviews, I did happen to guru another kanji and thus got two more lessons, but the lessons took zero minutes this time (i.e. the clock said 7:52 when I finished the regular reviews and started the lessons, and it still said 7:52 when I finished the lessons.)

Sun Apr 09 2023:
Time spent: 5m
Reviews completed: 28
Reviews remaining: 356
Reviews in next week: 691 (+335)
Reviews in next month: 1175 (+484)
Accuracy: 64.29% (18/28)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 199
Guru: 396
Master: 338
Enlightened: 878
Burned: 5843

7 Likes

Randomly guru’d another three kanji today, leaving eight to go till level up. This streak will probably end soon though, just due to running out of Apprentice 4 kanji ready to be guru’d.

Mon Apr 10 2023:
Time spent: 17m L1
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 318
Reviews in next week: 695 (+377)
Reviews in next month: 1169 (+474)
Accuracy: 86.00% (86/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 195
Guru: 399
Master: 339
Enlightened: 872
Burned: 5854

7 Likes

Seven to go.

Tue Apr 11 2023:
Time spent: 18m L1
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 283
Reviews in next week: 698 (+415)
Reviews in next month: 1173 (+475)
Accuracy: 83.00% (83/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 195
Guru: 398
Master: 339
Enlightened: 868
Burned: 5861

7 Likes

Six kanji to go. This bring my lesson streak to six consecutive days with new lessons, 11 out of the last 12 days, and 13 out of the last 15. However, with only two Apprentice 4 kanji that it will be possible to guru tomorrow morning, out of a total of 384 items up for review, my odds of continuing the streak tomorrow are only 45.3%.

Wed Apr 12 2023:
Time spent: 11m L1
Reviews completed: 67
Reviews remaining: 303
Reviews in next week: 695 (+392)
Reviews in next month: 1172 (+477)
Accuracy: 80.60% (54/67)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 192
Guru: 401
Master: 341
Enlightened: 863
Burned: 5868

8 Likes

Well, the lesson streak had to end sometime. On the bright side, several lower level kanji did come up this morning. Of the remaining lvl49 kanji, I know have exactly two at Apprentice 2, three at Apprentice 3, and four at Apprentice 4, so that’s a neat coincidence.

Thu Apr 13 2023:
Time spent: 15m
Reviews completed: 101
Reviews remaining: 293
Reviews in next week: 663 (+370)
Reviews in next month: 1156 (+493)
Accuracy: 91.09% (92/101)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 181
Guru: 400
Master: 342
Enlightened: 866
Burned: 5876

8 Likes

Dat accuracy tho. Gonna be quite a shorter level up this time!

3 Likes

The time required to level up is more or less inversely related to the number of reviews remaining, because the main delay is waiting for the level kanji to randomly come up for review out of all the possible items awaiting review, which is why my level up time has been decreasing pretty much exponentially.

4 Likes

Four kanji to go

Fri Apr 14 2023:
Time spent: 9m L3
Reviews completed: 38
Reviews remaining: 340
Reviews in next week: 683 (+343)
Reviews in next month: 1167 (+484)
Accuracy: 84.21% (32/38)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 186
Guru: 400
Master: 344
Enlightened: 865
Burned: 5879

4 Likes

After a bunch of level kanji came up for review right off the bat yesterday, I didn’t get a single one in 100 reviews today. The random number god giveth and taketh away.

Sat Apr 15 2023:
Time spent: 16m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 321
Reviews in next week: 647 (+326)
Reviews in next month: 1165 (+518)
Accuracy: 82.00% (82/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 180
Guru: 396
Master: 350
Enlightened: 858
Burned: 5890

5 Likes

Three kanji to go.

Sun Apr 16 2023:
Time spent: 18m L1
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 301
Reviews in next week: 629 (+328)
Reviews in next month: 1159 (+530)
Accuracy: 74.00% (74/100)
Level: 49

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 178
Guru: 386
Master: 356
Enlightened: 858
Burned: 5898

5 Likes

I didn’t do any reviews over the weekend, and came back to a pile of around 300 today, and it made me think of you. I’m curious, do you have a review number in mind where you think you’ll decide to just finish off the pile? Like if there are only 101 reviews remaining you’ll probably just do them all and not stick to the 100 review limit. What’s your plan?

4 Likes

I haven’t made any specific plans like that, but I may decide to just go ahead and rush down to 0 at some point.

4 Likes