Scaling the 4724 review wall - 塵も積もれば山となる

Last year, I raced through Wanikani as fast as possible, reaching level 60, and then stopped after a year. However, I later realized that I had forgotten pretty much everything, so I resubscribed and attempted to start whittling down the pile of thousands of reviews I had accumulated.

I actually started this challenge way back in May, but I decided to start a new thread now, since the old one had gotten so long. You can see the previous threads here: Part 1, Part 2

The story so far

When I started, way back in May, I had 6218 reviews to get through. I naively thought that I’d mostly remember everything and that I could get through all that in just a few weeks. Boy was I in for a rude surprise.

Instead, I could barely remember anything, and doing reviews was like getting slapped in the face over and over and over. In fact, no matter how hard I tried and how long I spent doing reviews, my review count actually kept going up over time, peaking at 6618 before I finally gave in and reset my level.

At first, I reset my level from 60 to 48, which helped a lot, but still not enough. I ended up resetting again to 47, and finally to level 46. Below is a chart of my review count for the first 90 days, showing the count after each time I reset in a different color. As you can see, this was not a happy time for me.

After I reset for the last time (to level 46), my review count as “only” 5188. Reviews were suddenly a lot easier, but it still took months of hard work before my review count stopped climbing and started going back down again. In fact, my review count peaked at 5319 and didn’t start going back down until over three months into the challenge.

Below is a graph of my review count since I reset to level 46. As you can see, there have been a lot of ups and downs, but over time, I have slowly been making progress.

My current review count each night is shown in blue on the graph, and the reviews I have due in the next 7 days and next 30 days are shown in red and yellow, respectively. (I only started tracking these later on, so these lines don’t go back to the start.)

Anyway, that brings us to today, where I currently have a mountain of 4724 reviews awaiting me. I’ve barely done any WK for the last two weeks, but I’m hoping to start making a lot of progress again this weekend. Here goes nothing!

18 Likes

Tldr but good work

2 Likes

Godspeed soldier. Love seeing your logs and your dedication

2 Likes

Today was a pretty good start. Hopefully I can build on it further tomorrow.

Sat Dec 04 2021:
Time spent: 31m
Reviews completed: 124
Reviews remaining: 4610
Reviews in next week: 4872 (+262)
Reviews in next month: 5105 (+233)
Accuracy: 74.19% (92/124)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 86.89% (53/61)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 61.90% (39/63)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2808
Guru: 1406
Master: 476
Enlightened: 707
Burned 1668

1 Like

I was in a similar boat with like 3k reviews after doing almost no WK at all this past year. So I decided to reset all the way to level 1. I would also suggest installing the WK self study quiz and reviewing your burned items too, because I found that I didn’t remember my burned items too well either…

Also maybe consider the WK re-order plugin. That helped me quite a bit because it allowed me to work level by level and focus on my Kanji before the vocab

1 Like

Sun Dec 05 2021:
Time spent: 37m
Reviews completed: 158
Reviews remaining: 4570
Reviews in next week: 4831 (+261)
Reviews in next month: 5095 (+264)
Accuracy: 80.38% (127/158)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 89.29% (75/84)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 70.27% (52/74)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2793
Guru: 1411
Master: 486
Enlightened: 701
Burned 1674

Mon Dec 06 2021:
Time spent: 14m
Reviews completed: 52
Reviews remaining: 4577
Reviews in next week: 4828 (+251)
Reviews in next month: 5091 (+263)
Accuracy: 75.00% (39/52)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 100.00% (22/22)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 56.67% (17/30)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2786
Guru: 1418
Master: 486
Enlightened: 699
Burned 1676

1 Like

Tue Dec 07 2021:
Time spent: 14m
Reviews completed: 49
Reviews remaining: 4635
Reviews in next week: 4818 (+183)
Reviews in next month: 5087 (+269)
Accuracy: 77.55% (38/49)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 78.57% (22/28)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 76.19% (16/21)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2786
Guru: 1413
Master: 490
Enlightened: 697
Burned 1679

When doing reviews, I normally keep going or stop early depending on how hard the reviews are and how badly I’m doing. This morning, I did unusually well and got a lot of easy reviews and kept going for much longer than usual. I did 65 reviews in 15 minutes, which is more than the morning and evening sessions put together on Monday and Tuesday!

I also got lucky burning 脱ぐ and 俊才. For 脱ぐ, I could only vaguely remember the reading, but I “felt” like nu was right and it was. For 俊才, I didn’t recognize the word at all and just guessed “genius” based on the second kanji, which I did recognize, and “syunsai” for the reading since kanji with the “spider” radical are normally “syun” and I guessed that there was no rendaku.

Wed Dec 08 2021:
Time spent: 23m
Reviews completed: 96
Reviews remaining: 4582
Reviews in next week: 4801 (+219)
Reviews in next month: 5085 (+284)
Accuracy: 82.29% (79/96)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 83.33% (40/48)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 81.25% (39/48)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2769
Guru: 1421
Master: 501
Enlightened: 693
Burned 1681

Thu Dec 09 2021:
Time spent: 20m
Reviews completed: 62
Reviews remaining: 4581
Reviews in next week: 4804 (+223)
Reviews in next month: 5089 (+285)
Accuracy: 79.03% (49/62)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 84.21% (32/38)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 70.83% (17/24)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2772
Guru: 1417
Master: 505
Enlightened: 696
Burned 1681

Your dedication and commitment is really admirable! I’m currently also scaling a review wall of my own (initially ~1650 reviews, now down to ~1100).

3 Likes

Fri Dec 10 2021:
Time spent: 19m
Reviews completed: 84
Reviews remaining: 4560
Reviews in next week: 4798 (+238)
Reviews in next month: 5076 (+278)
Accuracy: 82.14% (69/84)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 90.91% (40/44)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 72.50% (29/40)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2770
Guru: 1414
Master: 504
Enlightened: 696
Burned 1687

1 Like

Leech Review XVI

For those who didn’t follow the previous threads, last September, I decided to do a special “leech review” every Saturday morning, where I manually review leeches outside of WK using my customized BishBashOnce script. Anyway, today marks the 16th Leech Review (I skipped a couple weeks due to vacation).

Here is my accuracy for the last few leech reviews:

2021-09-04: 71.57% (73/102)
2021-09-11: 72.81% (83/114)
2021-09-18: 71.91% (64/89)
2021-09-25: 74.03% (191/258)
2021-10-02: 74.56% (85/114)
2021-10-09: 69.23% (198/286)
2021-10-16: 81.15% (211/260)
2021-11-06: 67.66% (159/235)
2021-11-13: 71.90% (151/210)
2021-11-20: 75.12% (160/213)
2021-12-04: 62.50% (115/184)
2021-12-11: 70.56% (127/180)

As you can see, accuracy was up since last week (62.5% → 70.6%), but not as much as I’d have liked. Accuracy was much lower than usual last week, possibly due to skipping a week due to Thanksgiving vacation, and thus having a two week gap to forget things. This time, I only had a one week gap, so I did better, but still not great.

And here is the list of all the leeches I missed again after manually re-reviewing them this morning. I was particularly frustrated to miss 滞る yet again. I don’t even know how many times in a row that’s been now. It seems like every time I guess the reading (toto/todo), reality changes in the background to make my guess wrong!

It looks like 焦げる has dethroned 滞る as my worst leech currently, but that’s just a stupid transitive/intransitive pair, so I don’t mind it so much when I constantly get those wrong. They’re basically just dumb coin flips anyway.

vocab	焦げる To Be Burned こげる
vocab	滞る To Be Overdue とどこおる
vocab	象徴 Symbol しょうちょう
vocab	眺める To Stare At ながめる
vocab	由来 Origin ゆらい
vocab	責める To Blame せめる
vocab	対外 Foreign たいがい
vocab	焦る To Be In A Hurry あせる
vocab	商売 Business しょうばい
vocab	著しい Remarkable いちじるしい
kanji	速 Fast そく
vocab	執筆 Writing しっぴつ
vocab	大抵 Generally たいてい
vocab	規則 Rule きそく
vocab	及ぼす To Exert およぼす
vocab	傾ける To Lean かたむける
vocab	筋 Tendon すじ
vocab	変人 An Eccentric へんじん
vocab	拝見する To Have A Look At はいけんする
vocab	計算 Calculation けいさん
vocab	頼み A Favor たのみ
vocab	合図 Sign あいず
vocab	退ける To Repel Something しりぞける
kanji	貸 Lend たい
vocab	甘党 Sweet Tooth あまとう
vocab	指示 Instructions しじ
vocab	無くす To Get Rid Of Something なくす
vocab	抱く To Hug だく
vocab	除いて Except のぞいて
vocab	挑む To Challenge Someone いどむ
vocab	田代島 Tashirojima たしろじま
vocab	遠視 Farsightedness えんし
vocab	貨物 Freight かもつ
vocab	荒波 Stormy Seas あらなみ
vocab	鋭い Sharp するどい
vocab	過程 Process かてい
vocab	割れる To Be Divided われる
kanji	朗 Bright ろう
vocab	繁茂 Luxuriant Growth はんも
vocab	荷札 Tag にふだ
vocab	慰謝 Consolation いしゃ
kanji	酎 Sake ちゅう
vocab	居間 Living Room いま
vocab	届く To Be Delivered とどく
vocab	検索 Lookup けんさく
vocab	感嘆符 Exclamation Mark かんたんふ
vocab	点く To Be Lit つく
vocab	越える To Go Beyond こえる
vocab	隣国 Neighboring Country りんごく
vocab	転がす To Roll Something ころがす
vocab	地域 Region ちいき
vocab	頼る To Rely On たよる
vocab	特徴 Characteristic とくちょう

Wow and I feel horrible when I have 50 reviews to do… :sweat_smile:
That is insane !!

3 Likes

Sat Dec 11 2021:
Time spent: 29m
Reviews completed: 124
Reviews remaining: 4514
Reviews in next week: 4787 (+273)
Reviews in next month: 5064 (+277)
Accuracy: 75.81% (94/124)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 86.96% (60/69)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 61.82% (34/55)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2759
Guru: 1414
Master: 510
Enlightened: 694
Burned 1694

I made huge progress today. I burned 13 items, and would have gotten my Apprentice count under 2750 for the first time if it weren’t for the six new lessons I also did today.

Sun Dec 12 2021:
Time spent: 53m
Reviews completed: 188
Reviews remaining: 4443
Reviews in next week: 4754 (+311)
Reviews in next month: 5054 (+300)
Accuracy: 77.66% (146/188)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 89.11% (90/101)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 64.37% (56/87)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2754
Guru: 1404
Master: 530
Enlightened: 682
Burned 1707

1 Like

Well, the burst of enthusiasm I got for Wanikani yesterday afternoon sure didn’t last long. I did very badly at WK today, particularly in the evening. Oh well, I’m sure things will change again soon enough.

Mon Dec 13 2021:
Time spent: 17m
Reviews completed: 66
Reviews remaining: 4463
Reviews in next week: 4748 (+285)
Reviews in next month: 5055 (+307)
Accuracy: 62.12% (41/66)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 68.42% (26/38)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 53.57% (15/28)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2748
Guru: 1410
Master: 531
Enlightened: 680
Burned 1708

I got very lucky on this evening’s session, burning 5 items in just 8 minutes and hitting 90% overall accuracy.

Tue Dec 14 2021:
Time spent: 20m
Reviews completed: 67
Reviews remaining: 4464
Reviews in next week: 4753 (+289)
Reviews in next month: 5050 (+297)
Accuracy: 80.60% (54/67)
Accuracy on resurrected items: 89.66% (26/29)
Accuracy on non-resurrected items: 73.68% (28/38)

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 2740
Guru: 1420
Master: 531
Enlightened: 671
Burned 1715