Scaling the review mountain part 5 - the light at the end of the tunnel

In 2020, I raced through Wanikani as fast as possible, reaching level 60, and then stopped after a year. However, I later realized that I had forgotten pretty much everything, so I resubscribed and attempted to start whittling down the pile of thousands of reviews I had accumulated.

This is the fifth thread documenting my challenge. You can read about my journey up to now in the previous four threads - Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4.

The journey so far

I started this challenge on May 12th, 2021 with a mountain of 6218 reviews. I naively thought that I’d mostly remember everything and that I could get through all that in just a few weeks, but instead I could barely remember anything from the higher levels, and it was brutal and my review count actually kept going up. After a month in a half, with my reviews up to 6618, I gave in and ended up resetting from level 60 down to level 46.

Even after resetting, it still wasn’t easy, and my review mountain reached a post-reset high of 5319 before it finally started going down again.

Even after my review count peaked, it was slow going for a while. This time last year, I was still struggling to keep my review count under 5000. However, as you can see, my review count has rapidly declined this year, particularly in the spring and summer. I am now down to only 1357 reviews, and it finally feels like I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.
wkoct23_forecast

My review speed has also increased significantly over the last year and a half. When I first started out, it was a huge slog since I couldn’t remember anything, and I was only getting through 1.5 reviews per minute. Even after resetting, it was only up to 2-3 reviews per minute. However, it has continued increasing, and I often now manage to hit 6 reviews per minute on average:

Of course, not everything has progressed so smoothly. My accuracy was of course terrible early on as well, and did go up a lot over time. However, after peaking around 83-85% this summer, it has now gone back down to 77% again. I suspect this is because I’ve burned so many of the easy items and a lot more of the remainder are leeches and unknown words. It’s still a bit frustrating though.

You can also see this effect in my counts of Apprentice, Guru, etc. over time. Recently, I’ve been burning tons of items, because a large fraction of the reviews coming up now are easy items that I previously got up to Enlightened and are finally coming up for burn reviews.

27 Likes

Your documentation of this process has been such an inspiration, I look forward to seeing you finally conquer that mountain :mountain_snow::grin:

2 Likes

I only started reading about your journey a week ago but after absorbing all of the dense threads, your 決心 is stunning!
It’s like watching someone demolish an impenetrable building by throwing themselves into a wall over and over but then realising that somehow their impossbile seeming strategy is working!

I’m especially impressed by your speed, this morning it took me at least two hours to work through 60 reviews (and that included some radicals) I can’t imagine getting 6 kanji/vocab inputted per minute without dying from typos and finger cramps…

anyway~
がんばって!

2 Likes

@Student-Bunny I think it might be because I’ve been doing Wanikani and studying Japanese for nearly three years now. I can answer most of the reviews just by instinct and still get decent accuracy. I’ve already seen every review many times in the past on Wanikani. If you’re just starting out, it’s natural that things will be a lot harder. You’ll get there eventually.

Sun Oct 23 2022:
Time spent: 11m
Reviews completed: 64
Reviews remaining: 1305
Reviews in next week: 1625 (+320)
Reviews in next month: 2365 (+740)
Accuracy: 89.06% (57/64)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 480
Guru: 497
Master: 445
Enlightened: 2114
Burned: 3788

3 Likes

I’m kind of rushing it too, spending a lot of time per day on studying. My goal is to get lvl 60 in a year and so far everything goes quite smooth.

But how come you forgot almost everything after a year? Did you stop reading for a while after getting lvl 60?

Besides reading I think I will restart KW after I got lvl 60. Studying and doing reviews should take much less time then and I think it will be a good way to keep most things in my brain, bit not too sure if that’s the best way to go.

3 Likes

2 Likes

Mon Oct 24 2022:
Time spent: 0m
Reviews completed: 0
Reviews remaining: 1340
Reviews in next week: 1643 (+303)
Reviews in next month: 2382 (+739)
Level: 47

1 Like

Tue Oct 25 2022:
Time spent: 9m
Reviews completed: 50
Reviews remaining: 1350
Reviews in next week: 1659 (+309)
Reviews in next month: 2374 (+715)
Accuracy: 74.00% (37/50)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 481
Guru: 493
Master: 446
Enlightened: 2107
Burned: 3797

3 Likes

I figured that the new thread didn’t get off to a very exciting start due to me skipping Monday, so I decided to make it up to you by forcing myself to do double the usual number of reviews today.

Wed Oct 26 2022:
Time spent: 35m
Reviews completed: 200
Reviews remaining: 1237
Reviews in next week: 1583 (+346)
Reviews in next month: 2324 (+741)
Accuracy: 78.50% (157/200)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 475
Guru: 497
Master: 432
Enlightened: 2083
Burned: 3841

6 Likes

Good work!

I think that’s almost the lowest review count you’ve had?

1 Like

Thu Oct 27 2022:
Time spent: 18m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 1237
Reviews in next week: 1564 (+327)
Reviews in next month: 2307 (+743)
Accuracy: 83.00% (83/100)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 469
Guru: 494
Master: 432
Enlightened: 2063
Burned: 3870

4 Likes

Fri Oct 28 2022:
Time spent: 9m
Reviews completed: 50
Reviews remaining: 1263
Reviews in next week: 1585 (+322)
Reviews in next month: 2294 (+709)
Accuracy: 80.00% (40/50)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 467
Guru: 493
Master: 426
Enlightened: 2062
Burned: 3880

4 Likes

Sat Oct 29 2022:
Time spent: 3m
Reviews completed: 23
Reviews remaining: 1283
Reviews in next week: 1626 (+343)
Reviews in next month: 2294 (+668)
Accuracy: 86.96% (20/23)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 469
Guru: 490
Master: 421
Enlightened: 2063
Burned: 3885

4 Likes

In an interesting coincidence, the kanji 規 and 準 both came up in my last three reviews (out of 100) this morning (and I burned both).

Sun Oct 30 2022:
Time spent: 18m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 1240
Reviews in next week: 1582 (+342)
Reviews in next month: 2249 (+667)
Accuracy: 86.00% (86/100)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 463
Guru: 485
Master: 412
Enlightened: 2059
Burned: 3909

3 Likes

Someone has probably asked this before, but have you ever looked at doing 2 review sessions per day, so 50 reviews twice a day? Or does that not work with your schedule?

Noticing a trend where you will have 1-2 days a week where you do a smaller # of reviews or skip them. Given that, I think it would be beneficial to do 2 sessions per day of about 60 items apiece (120 per day), which should take you about 10 minutes each. That way, even if you feel like doing a light day or need to skip a day, you’ll still be making forward progress with the number of upcoming reviews?

Replied to wrong post previously.

I sometimes do two sessions per day (for example last Wednesday), but usually I am too busy.

Sorry, too busy today. On the bright side, I finish making an awesome Halloween costume.

Mon Oct 31 2022:
Time spent: 0m
Reviews completed: 0
Reviews remaining: 1262
Reviews in next week: 1602 (+340)
Reviews in next month: 2254 (+652)
Level: 47

4 Likes

Tue Nov 01 2022:
Time spent: 23m
Reviews completed: 120
Reviews remaining: 1217
Reviews in next week: 1549 (+332)
Reviews in next month: 2212 (+663)
Accuracy: 76.67% (92/120)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 460
Guru: 488
Master: 399
Enlightened: 2046
Burned: 3935

4 Likes

Wed Nov 02 2022:
Time spent: 18m
Reviews completed: 100
Reviews remaining: 1202
Reviews in next week: 1555 (+353)
Reviews in next month: 2183 (+628)
Accuracy: 77.00% (77/100)
Level: 47

Current item counts:
Apprentice: 468
Guru: 480
Master: 387
Enlightened: 2035
Burned: 3958

4 Likes