Reflections from an unconventional learner( lv20, 7 years in)

Hi All,

This is a reflection coming from someone about 7 years in and level 20.

I went through an unconventional language learning journey and just wanted to share my story.

I'm completely self-taught Japanese other than one semester in high school. I realized how much free time I had in college and thought to myself that, "I will never have as much free time in my life as I do now until I retire. So, I might as well do something productive!" I am half Japanese from Hawaii and was already invested in anime/manga. I was forced to take French in high school from my parents, but I was always jealous of my friends who were in Japanese. I really wanted to watch raw anime, look at kanji without seeing gibberish and so my journey began.

I had no idea how to learn Japanese, and admittedly starting without guidance was tough. I bought a kanji book and read Tae Kim daily. Learning kanji without learning everything about it, the readings, meanings, alternate readings etc. was a huge mistake. I went breath instead of depth and it resulted in me knowing too little in too many things and resulted in really poor reading efficiency. I often used Google translate to assist instead of a proper dictionary (shout outs to jisho.org) and stumbled through my language learning infancy by making making (bad) kanji flash cards and reading grammar guides. I knew I needed help at some point and came across WK.

While everyone learns differently, there's a certain level of diligence and hard work required that is inescapable. Don't try to downplay this effort as "not working for you" and push through. Its important to know when it is actually not "working for you" though. This is a mistake I would constantly find myself in. Sometimes there are no shortcuts.