Playing Pokemon X in kana-only mode

I’m pretty new to Japanese language-learning, and I’m only on Wanikani level 3. (Just got my subscription a few days ago, yay).

Anyway, I’m playing Pokemon X in kana-only mode (no kanji knowledge lol), and I was wondering if that’s a bad thing. My vocabulary is actually not non-existent, and for some reason, I have an intuitive grasp of a lot of the grammar although I couldn’t point out which tense or form it was if you put a gun to my head. (maybe it’s all the hours watching anime).

So basically what I’m doing is having Jisho open on my laptop and using it to understand the words I’m unfamiliar with (like 90% of them). This way, I’m learning some new vocab every day (I put it into Anki, in both the hiragana, kanji). Will this benefit me in the future, while associating kanji to vocab I already know, or with the vocab I might gain from this game?

Or do you think I’d be better off doing something else?

I use Bunpro for grammar, and WaniKani for Kanji. I’m around a quarter of the way through Bunpro’s N5 grammar, so I know some basic things.

I tried kana-only mode and it just wasn’t for me.
Then I had an issue with the kanji mode (yeah, I know), so I gave up.

As to whether it’ll be useful, everything’s more useful than nothing. :stuck_out_tongue:
It’s just that a lot of the words you’ll learn in hiragana, you will rarely see them just like that, so you’re just learning pronunciation instead of reading.

I see. I’m using jisho to find the kanji form of the vocabulary I’m learning, and then I put it into Anki’s SRS so I can learn it. Even though I don’t actually know the kanji, I’m trying to get myself used to seeing it in the word and associating it to the pronunciation and meaning.

Even in kanji mode Pokémon doesn’t use that many kanji and kana mode is a nightmare for figuring out where words start and end so wouldn’t recommend it personally