Online verb conjugation practice

Hi guys,

I’m fairly new to Japanese and am keen to find out if there is a web quiz type thing for verb conjugation practice. I am having a lot of success with this type of learning (wanikani and kaniwani, the kitsun.io app for other vocabulary and grammar, I really quickly learnt katakana with this) because it means I can target my central weakness (memory), making my other study to do with grammar and reading satisfying and enjoyable. Even if there’s something as basic as giving a verb in dictionary form and asking for different conjugations would be a good start.

Thanks a bunch

Nicholas

2 Likes

On Kitsun you can try the deck “Japanese Verb Conjugations” by hinekidori, but it’s also testing the English meaning of the verbs. I don’t really get the hang of it and there are 23000+ cards, but maybe you like it.

This is a list of approximately 500 verbs set up to run through 48 conjugation forms. Irregular verbs are not currently included, since I have to set them up a little differently.

3 Likes

There’s also this:

I think tofugu had an article about useful phone apps. I think I looked at Japanese Conjugation City for my Android phone. I didn’t end up using it much, so I don’t remember if it’s good or bad, to be honest.

5 Likes

I’ve used Don’s, it’s good for the purpose and I like that it quizzes you from various forms to other forms and not just dictionary to form.

I also never got the hang of the linked kitsun conjugation deck, and highly prefer dons.

3 Likes

Thanks I’ll give it a try. It looks like there’s a lot of vocabulary in there I don’t already know, not sure how that’ll go but keen to try.

This is closer to what I was imagining, thanks a bunch. It’s wild how many high quality web resources there are for Japanese. It’s truly the nerd’s language of choice.

1 Like

I installed it back whenever the mentioned it. I’ve yet to open it for the first time. Shame on me.

1 Like

You can try waniconjugation.herokuapp.com