Newbie here - Questions regarding Level 1 stuff

Hello,

Just started WaniKani a few days ago. It’s a lot of fun so far! I’m having a much better time with it than the standard Anki decks that get suggested a lot.
To my surprise I am actually struggling with a few things on Level 1, which is a little startling. Struggling this early on is a bit concerning, but maybe it will get easier the more I get used to everything. I guess it’s unreasonable to expect Japanese to just click with you right out the gate.

On to my questions:
1.) I’ve noticed that the pronunciation of some Kanji is the same despite having totally different meaning, such as 工 (construction) and 口 (mouth) are both either pronounced こう or く. How would you differentiate these in conversation? I’m guessing it’s contextual, I haven’t dug too deep into grammar yet, but i’m definitely curious.

2.) Some Kanji (despite not sounding like it in pronunciation) have their vowels dragged out. Any tips on getting this down better? For example, 女 is じょ (Jyo) while 十 is じゅう (Jyuu). I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gotten 女 wrong just because my brain keeps telling me to type じょお, or I leave out the う in 十. Unfortunately the mnemonics, while useful for associating meaning to symbol, don’t really help when remembering extended vowels. It’s a little discouraging since I feel like I did a good job remembering it otherwise, but my progression is stunted due to a simple extended vowel being dropped.

3.) Lastly, would it be worth my while to take the time to study between reviews? Or is that no good when paired with an SRS system? I’m really eager to advance since I set a goal to hit a level where i’m ready to take on the N5 before the year ends, but if studying is detrimental to SRS systems then I guess I should just be patient.

Thanks for reading and any answers I get.