Already having trouble at level one

I just started learning Japanese (I only know hiragana and katakana) and decided to use Wanikani for kanji studies. I was doing fine until now but I got to the vocabulary portion of the level which I found extremely hard. I fail to remember the correct reading for each word. How can I memorize what to use in what situation?

11 Likes

Might help if you are a bit more familiar with the language before you start leaning kanji. I would suggest you do some grammar first, so you have some context for the kanji

17 Likes

What Kumirei said would probably help a lot, but you could also make your own mnemonics for vocabulary using the kanji you learned

4 Likes

Don’t worry. This will sink in with time. Let the SRS do its work.

The idea is you will be asked to review items you have trouble with more often. If you see them often you will eventually remember them. Once you get acquainted to them you will see them less and less often to test your long term memory.

More information:

11 Likes

Also, vocabulary gets relatively easier over time. The level-1 vocabulary has a lot of kun’yomi (native Japanese) readings, so the readings for the vocab don’t have much to do with the readings for the constituent kanji (WK usually teaches on’yomi, imported Chinese readings, with these).

From about level 3 onwards, more and more of the vocabs are going to be jukugo, so the readings are just the kanji’s on’yomi readings stringed together. Once you internalize how this system works, vocab lessons become easier. (At least in my experience.)

8 Likes

I fourth what the others have said as well. Learning a little grammar would help, focusing more on mnemonics, as well as things getting easier over time. To reiterate that last point a little bit, one thing that’s important to understand during the early levels is that while you’re learning kanji and vocab, you’re also learning HOW to learn kanji and vocab.