Newbie here, how long does it take to get a kanji to burned status?

I’ve been passing every level with my first radicals and I was wondering how long I would be studying these specific ones before I move on.

1 Like

To move on you must get your radicals to a guru status.
There are four apprentice stages:
first is four hours, second is eight, third is one day, and fourth is four days (I think…somewhere around that…it’s been a while :sweat_smile:)
Once they are gurued, you will get the kanji for the level unlocked. And once those are gurued, you will level up, as well as unlock any vocabulary lessons involving the kanji you learned.
So you don’t need to burn stuff to move on. But to answer your question, from start to finish it takes about 6 months to burn something. :slightly_smiling_face::heart:
And welcome to Wanikani!!


Thank you!!

1 Like

No problem! :heart: I hope to see you around, and good luck with your studies :crabigator:


Just to add, on levels 1 and 2 apprentice level times are halved! But after you get them to guru they’ll goto the same intervals as all other items.

1 Like

All the stages are listed in the FAQ


It’s 2 days. ^^ I don’t keep track of the rest of the levels, but thankfully @Ducklingscap kindly posted a link to the FAQ. :slight_smile:

Edit: might as well post the numbers from the FAQ for people:

4h, 8h, 23h, 47h (guru), 1w, 2w (master), 1m (enlighten), 4m (burned)

Fastest progress possible
Review SRS Level Total Wait Next Level
Lesson Apprentice 1 - 4h
1 Apprentice 2 4h 8h
2 Apprentice 3 12h ~1d
3 Apprentice 4 1d 11h ~2d
4 Guru 1 3d 10h ~1w
5 Guru 2 1w 3d 9h ~2w
6 Master 3w 3d 8h ~1M
7 Enlightened 7w 5d 7h ~4M
8 Burned 24w 6d 6h -

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.