Newbie here: How do I make the "yu" small

I keep getting this wrong because I can’t figure out how to make a small “yu” !

1 Like

You can do it one of two ways:

ju
jixyu

both of these inputs will make じゅ

1 Like

By learning Romaji and pronunciation, you will know juu by default.

Harder questions are づ du, ぢ di, ん nn.

Please try to find the IME guide on Google and in this forum.

1 Like

There are no stand-alone “shu,” “jo,” “ju,” “sho,” “sha,” or “ja” characters, so typing those syllables just like that will produce the larger character and the smaller “y” character together.

That’s standard in pretty much any Japanese typing mode, so once you know that, you’re set!

3 Likes

Here:

3 Likes

acm2010’s answer is the best for you. I recommend looking over the page and studying the contractions especially.

But long story short. Just type “jyu” for じゅ
Think of the small yu as being glued to the “じ” they are pronounced together so they must be typed as one.
They combined forces and together they are "じゅ"or “jyu”

Although you could type it as “ju” getting too used to that could make it confusing for contractions like りゅ aka “ryu” If you typed “ryu” as “ru” you would get る. It’s best to follow the standard rules/charts explained in the tofugu article.

3 Likes

I would recommend studying Foreign Katakana combination as well, as it is quite useful. For example,

フェ FE
ジェ JE
ティ THI
クォ QO

I find it hard to Google for a guide on this one.

I asked this once: Wapro romaji JYA (when using IME). Is it wrong to type this way? Does anyone else do it?

One can also type ZYA, but no-one actually do this. People tend to type JA rather than JYA, btw.

Also, I type TI and TYA.

1 Like

Although you could type it as “ju” getting too used to that could make it confusing for contractions like りゅ aka “ryu” If you typed “ryu” as “ru” you would get る. It’s best to follow the standard rules/charts explained in the tofugu article.