Nai at the end of a word

Hi, i am still learning japanese.

I am confused with nai form, I know it’s negative.

But according to various sentences such as this one,
From song → “いまは あなたしか 見えないの” It seems to not indicate a negative.
my translation → “Right now I only see you” — Where is the negative part???

So my question is, What does “nai” mean in this situation, and how do I know when to use this definition of nai or when to use nai as a negative indicator?

*Oh yea, anyone can explain why all of the translations exclude the “Right now” part even though “ima” is present in the sentence?

I think it’s しか that’s throwing you off. It works in conjunction with a negative to create what is effectively an affirmative structure. If you look up how to use it, you’ll familiarize yourself with these structures.

しか~ない basically means “not [do something] except for [thing]” which equates to “do only [something] related to [thing]”.

あなたしか見えない “can’t see anyone except you” (where except is like しか) which means the same as “I can only see you”

22 Likes

Oh ok, but is shika always paired up with -nai? If so, is there any reason behind it? (for future references)

Yes, しか has to be used with a negative. You cannot say something like あなたしか見える.

I’m not sure what you mean exactly by a reason for it. Negative polarity items, as they are called, exist in Japanese and English and しか is one of them.

4 Likes

Oh nvm about that, I understand better now.
My only question for now is, for your translation, why is “right now” or “currently” not a part of it? Because “Ima” is in the line

I mean… I left いまは out of the Japanese line as well since it’s not related to the ない question, it’s not like I didn’t translate it. I was just focusing on the part the thread was focused on.

I don’t know what translations you’re referring to as not including it.

1 Like