My time here feels like it falls short of being useful

Hey everyone. So in summary, I’m a full-time med student. This means every day I have 10-15 hours or work between going to the hospital and studying apart from doing general life stuff like groceries, cooking, etc. For the past year, I have tried to do my reviews early in the morning and I think I might have crammed through some levels or the mnemonics just never stuck with me, but at best I get 80% on a review session. On average, closer to a 50-60%. I don’t know if I should reset or just quit on Japanese altogether. I feel like I have tried to read some manga to motivate myself (I also love anime) and then when I go into WK to see the vocab, all the vocab I need to learn to understand the manga or shows I watch are at such high levels it’s demotivating. Especially when I can barely get half of the practice right at level 10-11. I tried to take over a month to just do reviews and still get 70-100+ reviews a day because some vocab just does not stick. I don’t like that all my 30-40 minutes of Japanese per day feel wasted on vocab I never get to use and don’t even get right half of the time. Has anybody reset and felt like that helped? Or is 30minutes a day just not enough to do anything apart from WK? I wish I could just do reviews once a day like anki. Thanks for reading my little rant. Tips or motivation appreciated!

3 Likes

This is not a race.
Get a pace you can manage, but stays consistent. 2 or 3 lessons a day maybe?
I feel like to try to do too much at once. Set your goals lower.

That is, if medschool is your focus now. If it is Japanese, just abandon your studies. lol

21 Likes

The problem here may be that you’re a full time med student.