Frustration

This is probably more of a rant then anything else.

I’ve been doing my honest best with wanikani for almost 2 years now and I feel like I’ve gotten hardly anywhere.
I feel like I’m absolute trash at learning a new language, I don’t feel like the mnemonics are helping me I often score under 60% of my reviews and I’m doing less then 100 reviews a day.

I try to do reviews twice a day once in the morning before I go to work and once in the evening before bed and it often stresses me out.

I have to really focus on my reviews else I find myself readily looking for some distraction to put off doing it for a few mins longer.

I also know I should compare myself to others and that any progress is good but I some times I look at others and feel like I’m bashing myself against a wall and not measuring up.

Am I just doing something wrong? I literally don’t have any more time to try and do more reviews in a day and I’m feeling hopeless, disappointed and incredibly demotivated.

20 Likes

Realistically, the answer is most likely “yes”, if we set aside any feel good ego boosting stuff.

The problem is that in order to give you a specific answer of how to better your learning, we need a much more accurate picture of what your situation is like.

When can you do reviews?
How much time are you setting aside a day?
When are you doing your 4 and 8hr reviews?
What is your retention like on those reviews?
What do you do when you get a question wrong?
Are you using the mnemonics they give? Do you make your own?
How do you go about doing your lessons?

20 Likes

I don’t feel like the mnemonics are helping me I often score under 60% of my reviews and I’m doing less then 100 reviews a day.

i know i’m just a wanikani babby, but i have a few questions about this:

• when you see a mnemonic in a new lesson for the first time, how do you use it?
  • if a mnemonic is not working out for you, what do you do?
  • if you get a review wrong, what do you do?
4 Likes