My Swiftkey swipe T9 keyboard changed

I have no clue what I did or whether this is an update, but my swipe keyboard went from this (left side)

To this

For some reason the small いうえお kana around the あ kana have disappeared. I am a definitely still quite bad at this, so I’m wondering whether someone knows how to get it back. Please help! :sob:

2 Likes

I have no experience with SwiftKey. But to be honest this might be good training. The version you have now is in line with the normal keyboards on iOS and Android that almost everyone in Japan uses nowadays.

The pattern is easy:

u           ku
i  a  e     ki ka ke
   o           ko

etc.

except for the わ key which is:

n
wo  wa  -
8 Likes

I understand, it just feels like someone took off my training wheels while I haven’t yet learned to cycle.

At least it is aiueo clockwise :man_shrugging:

2 Likes

Your theme looks like it changed. Some themes have the little kana guides and some don’t. Tap the little palette icon at the top to go through the themes and see if a different theme has the kana.

1 Like

I got the other image of the internet, I’m pretty sure my theme hasn’t changed but I’ll try anyway

Edit: doesn’t seem to have an effect :cry:

2 Likes

Sometimes the colored themes have the guides, but it’s kind of random as to which ones have them.
Otherwise, it might just be a weird update then :confused: I installed Swiftkey on my iPad and it didn’t have the guides no matter which theme I used. Unless there’s something else in settings?

1 Like

If you need help finding the small/dakuten kana look no further than the bottom left key! :wink:

It’s exactly like the native iOS keyboard as mentioned above!

I’m guessing it’s harder to get used to this change if you used to tap the keys rather than swipe in a particular direction?

Mine changed too. It’s definitely taking some getting used to, but it’s cleaner so I prefer it.

3 Likes

This is stupid!!!

5 Likes

┬─┬ノ(ಠ_ಠノ)

4 Likes

(ノꐦ ⊙曲ఠ)ノ彡┻━┻

4 Likes