Looking for script to switch y and z buttons

Hello,

as a user from Germany I have a very specific problem: Our y and z keys are switched and I recently discovered that muscle memory can be tricky as I completely mess up my writing when I use the japanese keyboard. This is because the daily learning is done on the german layout (romaji getting converted into hiragana).

Is there a script out there to switch the keys on wanikani so I don’t have to download the english layout (and ruining my quick switching from german to japanese layout with “win+space”)?

Oh interesting. I’m not good at these kinds of things, but I’d be interested to know if there is too. I type on two different keyboards (one is the standard qwerty) so it’d be cool if I could type Japanese with either one.

Currently, I just have three settings…

If you have Japanese keyboard, it’s better not to use a script that switches y and z only for WK because when you actually have to type Japanese with Japanese keyboard outside of WK, you’ll have to adjust anyway.

So i just went into my Region and Language settings, selected the Japanese Microsoft IME, and hit properties, editing, and by Key Template, I hit “Advanced”, then go to the “Romaji-Kana conversion” and it looks like you can change the settings?

It’d be a lot of work but I think you can just change it that way?

EDIT: just realized it won’t fix your WK input…whoops! and you’ll have trouble if you switch computers… but I’ll leave my comment here anyway =P

Actually, I confused myself now, and I’m not sure what the problem is. You don’t need to use an IME when typing into WK, so you can technically use any keyboard you want, and you would still type english like you normally would? I use my (non-qwerty) keyboard for pretty much everything, including WK, i just get (momentarily) messed up when I switch to the Japanese IME since it uses the qwerty keyboard…

1 Like