Level 60! My experience

Okay, so I just reached level 60 and as it is usual in the forum I’m going to explain my own experience in this post briefly and try to use this opportunity to transmit you all my message.

First, I began wanikani while I was an exchange student in Japan, at this time I lived in an international dorm were I met an American guy who was using it every day, very interested in that I asked what was it and he explained me the thing, I thought it was very interesting and that it would help me for sure learn Japanese, so I began in November I think. At first I just wanted to give it a trial because I wasn’t very sure about buying a suscription, one of the main reasons being that it’s in English and my mother tongue is Spanish. But anyway, I tried the first 3 levels and decided to go on!

Since that day until today, except for the ocassional vacances or strange ocurrences (like going to Kii Peninsula alone and walk Kumano Kodo for one week) I tried doing wanikani every day, I was feeling that I was learning a lot of things.

One of the times were I felt the best when I was about level 18. At this point I decided to play Trails in the Sky EVO (Sora no Kiseki), which is my favourite game, in Japanese, just for fun, because I had bought it, I didn’t expect to understand anything anyway but because I had played that in English before I didn’t really care. The thing was that when I began the game I was able to read and understand a huge amount of text and that was a great feeling. As I kept playing the game and doing wanikani, I noticed that day by day I would read things and be able to read words that I just had learnt a couple of minutes ago was very pleasant to me.

When the first semester finished I took the japanese level test again and thanks to all the things I had learnt through wanikani and the baito I got, I jumped a level and I was able to learn a lot more, I felt like I was progressing real good.