Krt100's Study Log 🇸🇮

Alright, it’s time to make my very own study log and to make it interesting for me and others on the internet, I’ll post my studies publicly. SInce this is the first version of this post, I’d rather keep it simple for now and I’ll improve it over time when needed.

In contrast, my introduction thread is privated (guests can’t see it), so I’ll extremely briefly introduce myself. I’m from Slovenia and I’ve been trying to study this language for 15 years at this point (started as a teenager, but life got complicated over the years, so I studied on and off as a result). The only things that I never forgot were the Hiragana and Katakana.

Goals for 2024

• reach at least level 30 in WaniKani
  • become at least intermediate in listening and reading
  • finish Imabi
  • start reading
  • try to play and beat a video game in Japanese (preferably without furigana)

Current resources

• Wanikani (kanji learning)
  • Imabi (textbook grammar)
  • Maggie Sensei (more practical grammar/everyday Japanese)
  • Jisho (Japanese dictionary)
  • PONS (a dictionary for many languages; used for English to Slovenian translation and vice-versa if needed for obvious reasons)
  • Google Translate (in case PONS doesn’t provide me a clear answer)

Current studying routine

1. Wanikani reviews at least twice a day (preferably more if I can spend a few minutes at work to do one)
  2. 5 new items at minimum if available and up to 20 at most in one day (will be adjusted if needed)
  3. at least one grammar lesson a day if possible

What I plan on reading
NHK News Web Easy
よつばと! (I actually started reading it raw in the past and it was a fun experience)

What I plan on listening
Podcasts:
1. Nihongo no Teppei (already did in the past, but I’ll restart it)
2. Let’s learn Japanese from small talk! (I appreciate the episodes being long and the inclusion of vocabulary lists for each episode)

• News channels on YouTube
  • Japanese radio

Reward system