JLPT Kanji Study Resources: what should I do?

Hi everyone.

I’ve been sifting through the community posts on study resources. I’m still not quite finding what I’m looking for.

WaniKani is an awesome resource. I’ve been studying Japanese for several years, which started in college. So, I’ve hit a lot of kanji and vocabulary I already know. That’s ok with me, because whatever I “relearn” on WK is actually sticking with me in a different way thanks to the mnemonics. However, it takes a very long time to progress. I’ve finally taken it more seriously over the past, 6 months or so, and have inched forward, which is good. But, I need something supplementary.

I’m currently learning N3 material. I want to find a way to study kanji in a similar way to WK because I find it to be so effective. However, I need to target the kanji needed for N3.

I have used Memrise for vocabulary, but the kanji courses are honestly NOT for me. They have completely separate “levels” for meaning and reading, and that’s an extremely ineffeficient way to learn (for me). The combination of both reading and meaning is far better.

However, I’m not finding anything like it. I checked out Torii, and while it looked cool, it has furigana for the vocabulary words, and I want to be tested on readings in addition to the meaning. Also, the N3 list was “vocab”, which leads me to believe that it includes vocabulary and the kanji for it, even if its reading isn’t tested at this level.

Another issue is this: I’ve found N3 kanji lists online, but study courses are often labeled vocab lists. Vocab and kanji are two separate things for JLPT, correct? I keep seeing these huge vocab list study courses WITH kanji, but I know there are many more vocabulary words which you DON’T need to know the kanji for in addition to a list of kanji which you need to know the reading and meaning of.