Japanese equivalents of English Sayings

Hey there! I’m very new to wanikani (as in started literally yesterday) and I’m very excited to take another stab at learning this language that i’ve been attempting for several years lol. Here’s my question, what are your favorite english sayings, and do you know if theres a japanese equivalent? If you dont know, do you know any equivalents to the phrases other people have posted and dont know?

Heres one that I’d love to know the equivalent to, if there is one: Speak of the devil, and he shall appear. I know that in french the equivalent is translated to “Speak of a wolf and you will see his tail”. I find this kind of thing very interesting and a lot of fun, so let me know any you have!

Its also a real pleasure to meet all you guys! 宜しく! ヽ( ・∀・)ノ

1 Like

Yeah, there’s usually some equivalent proverb or idiom, though the nuances of them might not overlap.

Japanese has 噂をすれば影がさす (うわさをすればかげがさす, if you spread a rumor a shadow will appear).

It’s also shortened to just 噂をすれば影, dropping the verb at the end.

2 Likes

Hi @Seacucumbre!

I actually haven’t heard of that phrase before—in English, French, or Japanese! 笑

A couple of my favorites are:

あっという間に (あっというまに “in the time it takes to say ‘ah’”) — this is like the English “in the blink of an eye,” which can be kind of useful to know.

小春日和 (こはるびより “late autumn ideal weather”) — this is just the Japanese way of expressing “Indian Summer,” or a period of Summer-like weather well into Fall. This one’s not nearly as useful, but you will shock a few people if you find the opportunity to exclaim it!

小さな池の大きな魚 (ちいさないけのおおきなさかな) — this one is basically a 1:1 translation of “big fish in a small pond,” which has been really useful for me when talking about children. You can also say its opposite 大きな池の小さな魚 (“small fish in a big pond”) even though it’s not really an expression in Japanese. People should infer the meaning pretty quickly. ^^

3 Likes

Hello @andrewkaz!