Is there any kanji to radical converter online tool or app is there?

Hi guys,
I’m new to Japanese and to this forum .
I have just started Japanese kanji learning

I had a few questions

1. Is there any site or tool that can give radicals for the entered kanji ?

Also I thought all kanjis without exception were made up of radicals,but tofugu site says the other.

1. So there is also radicals exist besides these 214 radicals ?

2. Also I saw there are many variants for the radicals,
    So is there a site that can give original and variant radicals for the user entered kanji ?

Some inputs and help would be appreciated.

There’s maybe some confusion about the terminology. There’s a strict definition for radical and a loose definition for radical.

The 214 radicals are the strict definition. Each kanji only has one radical. They are used for cataloging kanji and determine how kanji are ordered in a kanji dictionary. The Japanese government gives schools the information they need to teach to kids on kanji and this is one element that gets officially defined.

The WK radicals fall under a loose definition. These are more like the parts that make up a kanji and have no official standing or categorization.

If you want a tool that converts kanji to WK’s radicals, you need to use something related to WK, because no one else will know what you’re talking about.

5 Likes
  1. Jisho.org and many other JE dictionary apps out there.
  2. “non-official” radicals (parts). I recommend checking out WaniKani’s and Heisig’s.
  3. Yes. You will need to know this too, and it is connect to Kanji meaning. However, you will probably need to remember it yourself beforehand.

Hi Leebo,
so you are telling that our wk contains radicals more than that 214 ?
Is my understanding right ?

Also can you share the link of our wk kanji to radical converter ?

Thanks for your reply Leebo :grin:

Hi polv,