Interest in an app for learning onomatopoeia?

My wife has been studying Japanese for ~7 years and one thing she always mentions is how much onomatopoeia Japanese has and hope it’s tricky to learn via the usual tools like Anki. I’m not a Japanese expert (have taken a year in college and done a bit of WK), but I have a linguistics degree and the literature (ex this paper) definitely corroborates that learning onomatopoeia is different than learning other vocabulary — they’re really intuitive and squishy, and tools like Anki don’t do a great job because they focus on 1:1 correspondences. We’ve been working on an app that pairs onomatopoeia with sounds, video clips, images, animations, etc. to help form the more intuitive word-cloud association so you can not just recognize the word, but also recognize situations that fit that word so your speech sounds more natural. We want to keep it fun and playful (like WK!), because just using Anki can be very plain, and doesn’t fit the multi sensory nature of onomatopoeia which can describe a sound, a sight, a physical feeling, an emotion, or a combination of any or all of those that may be loosely, though intuitively to a native speaker, related.

Would people be interested in using an app like this? We’re in very early stages so we’re open to feedback and suggestions.

53 Likes

Yes! I feel like learning onomatopoeia is one of those things that gives really high rewards in fluency compared to other vocab. I know when I use these words correctly in context I feel my Japanese is significantly more natural-sounding than it usually is. But it feels extremely hard to learn and find the right resources that have enough precision and ambiguity to help actually learn how/when to use them.

Sounds like a great idea!

4 Likes

I think that would be great!

2 Likes

I would definitely be interested in an onomatopoeia learning app, this sounds awesome!

3 Likes