I haven't touched this in months, I have 1450 reviews pending and I forgot everything, how do I even start?

So I’m at level 10, stopped around August 2020. Do I reset a few levels (or the whole thing) maybe, because I feel like I know like 10% of the stuff at worst. Would you recommend resetting maybe a few levels or do I just try the reviews?

5 Likes

speaking as someone who reset from the mid-20s down to level 2, i’d recommend doing several hundred reviews just to get a sense of how much you remember . . . but then resetting. after all, the point of the exercise is actually to learn kanji, not to achieve some random, artificial level.

that said, i have a lifetime subscription; so if you’re paying on a regular basis maybe you have more incentive to try to get through it more quickly. it really depends on your priorities i suppose.

16 Likes

I would say it really depends how dedicated you are.
If you slowly get through the reviews, and ALSO use wani-kani self study quiz, you could salvage it.
Just don’t progress till you feel comfortable.

13 Likes

I have a lifetime subscription and am against resetting (having done it) - unless you remember NOTHING, resetting is counterproductive.

No new lessons until things are under control.

Don’t do more reviews per day than you will be able to handle when they come back for later reviews.

Potato-san mentioned the Self-study Quiz, or you could try BishBashBosh which is a separate webpage that uses your API key rather than being a script.

頑張(がんば)れ❕

@Joeni -san: we have a first-time poster, do your thang!

10 Likes