Resetting - experiences? advice?

Hi all,

I’ve been stuck at level 24 for some time now and I consistently have over 300 reviews. I’ve let myself go a bit and I feel like I’m doing so may reviews the kanji isn’t sticking anymore. I’m also forgetting a few of the older kanji.

What’s your experience been like with resetting your level? Helpful? Frustrating? I was considering going back to a lower level or even starting over but I want to get some thoughts because it’s a big decision.

1 Like

Disclaimer: I have no reset experience.

From what you wrote, I do not recommand reseting.
To be more clear, you need to take a few step back and understand the cause of your difficulties.
If you reset now, why wouldn’t you have the same difficilcuties in the future, close or far? It may cause frustration and you may abandon wk.

5 Likes

I think you should first identify which levels most of the items on your apprentice/Guru queue are from. Are they mostly from the last couple of levels? Then reset just a few levels, so you can go through them again one bunch at a time.

4 Likes

To be honest I think I let it go because I was getting depressed over summer as I had no job and was in lockdown. Didn’t really feel up to doing WK and reviews just build up from there.
But now I have a job and hopefully things will start to get better this year, I’m feeling more up to it

3 Likes

Good idea I think

Hey @Kuroneko1!

I did something similar, I got to around level 16 or so and just fell into a slump. My reviews piled up and I told myself I’d do it tomorrow but then I saw the number of reviews the next day and could never bring myself to do it.

I ended up resetting after taking a 6 or so month break, I don’t regret doing it at all and I’m back at level 23 now!

It definitely helped me learn from my mistakes and take things a lot slower and more at a pace I could handle.