How should one learn vocabulary?

Hello all !!

So I know this is probably a super silly question, but since I’m extremely new to learning the language of Japanese, I wanted to ask… In what way should I go about learning vocabulary ? Like… using flashcards, should I learn vocab with the kanji, and then on the other side of the card have the reading in hiragana/katakana and the english definition ?

I know there are already some posts here that I’m seeing talk about sources for learning, so… I’m mainly wondering about the kanji aspect.

Thanks !!

2 Likes

If you keep using wanikani the app will also teach you vocab!

The methology used on wanikani is that you first learn a kanji meaning and reading, and then once you nail that kanji a few times they will teach you some vocabulary that use that reading.

Since most of the kanji have more than one reading, the app will also teach you other words that use the most common different readings of that kanji. I personally think it’s good advice to learn vocab with the kanji, wanikani does that, but it breaks down the process in two parts so it doesn’t overload your head with a lot of stuff at the same time.

Keep in mind that there is a lot of vocabulary that wanikani doesn’t cover, or is kana only, so you will have to pick a method that works best for you to learn that vocabulary.

Some people create their own lists of words that they find and add them to Anki. Others keep confusing handwritten lists of words (me) and never look at them!

6 Likes

Personally I would suggest focusing on grammar and only learning vocab to assist in that. Only after that would I bother with any vocab study but by then you should be reading and getting a lot of your vocab from there. Seeing a word in the wild a few times is worth so much more then grinding it through srs.

11 Likes